jump to navigation

Wrong thermostat! 23 November 2009

Posted by elfringham in volvo.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

11th July 2006

I managed to find a sheet metal place that let me have a couple of pieces of steel to make a new bracket from which I have now done. All I need to do now is paint it and then fit it, at least I hope so anyway. Well I may cut one or two corners off just to lighten it up a bit. On Saturday I flushed out the coolant system. I have not been happy with the cooling of the engine and it has been ejecting coolant from the reservoir bottle as well. I removed loads of rusty sediment and freed up the drain cock in the block. Despite the coolant being only a few months old it was in pretty poor shape so I filled up with new. I thought that this would have a good chance of curing it as I suspected the block to be full of crud. I could not flush it very effectively when it was stuck in the garage as I had no running water nearby. Unfortunately after running the engine for a while it started to eject coolant again. After some discussion on the 1800list it looks like I may very well have the wrong thermostat in there. This was fitted new when I was initially sorting it all out but as far as I can remember does not look like the correct one that I have now seen pictures of. So I have had a new thermostat delivered and will fit it as soon as the opportunity presents itself. If that does not sort it out then I will swap the water pump and have another go at flushing the coolant system when the old one is off. I have a new pump that I got quite cheaply on eBay a while ago.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

