jump to navigation

Plastic bowl 29 November 2009

Posted by elfringham in volvo.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

12th May 2007

The saga of the pinion oil seal continues. I ordered the new seal and was then a bit concerned as it did not look like the one that is currently installed but it turns out the design was updated so that is OK. A couple of weeks ago I made the counter hold lever from some angle iron and had a go at undoing the nut. I couldn’t shift it so I put a jack under the breaker bar. This then bent the angle iron and one of the bolts tore out of its hole. I tried again the next day with a bit more metal separating the bolt holes on the angle iron from the edge but it had the same result. I am now the owner of a new DeWalt cordless impact wrench and will try again at some point. Last weekend was a meeting in Basingstoke, primarily for Amazons but all Volvos were welcome and so we took the 1800 along. It was the only 1800 there which quite surprised me. Unfortunately the engine started to sound a bit rough during the trip there. It did however get us there and back OK. Oh well, something else to fix I guess. There was a missing clip on the passenger side headlight bowl which meant that there was no way to secure the chrome trim ring in place although it was reasonably firm fit. I did however decide it was time to fix it so I ordered a replacement plastic bowl from Amazon Cars and have just fitted it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

