jump to navigation

Stubborn bolt 29 November 2009

Posted by elfringham in volvo.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

1st September 2006

I have spent a few hours working on the car since my last update. I decided to disassemble the rear brakes to get better access to the stuck bolts in the support arms – yes plural, both sides. I also bought a new, bigger club hammer. This has allowed me to get the near side support arm off the car and I have removed the old bushings from it, it just needs cleaning up, painting and the new bushings fitting. The off side bolt is being more stubborn as it won’t even turn in the bracket. I bought a new gas cartridge for my blow torch and intend to try heat on it over the weekend. Whilst removing the near side brake drum I managed to lift the brake shoes off the backing plate sufficiently that it tore through the little locking caps and I am now awaiting the replacement fitting kit that I ordered. I also bought some 3/16 kunifer and fittings in order to replace the hard brake lines whilst I am at it. The tow bar has also now been removed.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

