jump to navigation

Spiral binding 12 December 2009

Posted by elfringham in volvo.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

21st February 2009

I bought the blanking plate for the head to seal off the feed to the oil cooler, but I need to get some gasket material to use with it and it also needs painting. I also bought an inlet ring and a freeze plug. I removed the rear brake backing plates that I had put in place so that I could get at the rear bearings. After a bit of an effort I managed to get the axle half shafts free, using the brake drums as a slide hammer. There was not enough space to use a real slide hammer. I put fresh grease into the rear bearings, the stuff in there was old and probably diluted with gear oil as it was quite runny. I’ll have to keep an eye on it and see if the inner grease seal needs to be replaced. I started to peel off the insulation tape that is wrapped around the wiring loom so that I can re-wire for the alternator. The braided covering underneath is in quite poor condition. I ordered some new cable and terminals to cope with the higher charging current that the alternator will supply as well as some spiral binding.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

